1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

Do horsepower mods kill torque?

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2013, 06:22 PM
heekma
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Do horsepower mods kill torque?

Howdy folks.

I know just enough to be dangerous when it comes to motors. Reworked a 72 Nova 350-with a lot of knowledgeable help-and restored a couple old Honda motorcycles.

I've been mulling around some HP upgrades for my 2000 Durango R/T, but experience with my 93 Honda Magna gives me pause.

I bought my Magna with 8k on the clock. Previous owner installed V&H exhaust as well as a new carb kit. Supposed to gain an extra 10 HP or so.

Problem is, those extra 10 ponies move the power curve up, make a high-strung bike even more so and really weakens torque at lower RPM.

One of the things i enjoy about the 5.9 is the big torque on tap, pretty much right from idle. Will HP mods kill the bottom end the same way they did on my Magna?

I realize this is comparing a 5.9 L V8 to a 750cc motorcycle, but motors are motors, most HP increases come from more efficient breathing and exhausting of the motor.

For those who have swapped intake manifolds, throttle bodies, headers etc. for more horsepower, did low RPM torque suffer?

Best,

Heekma

Last edited by heekma; 02-17-2013 at 06:24 PM.
Old 02-17-2013, 10:26 PM
shrpshtr325
THE ULTI-MOD
Received 33 Likes on 31 Posts

any mod to the intake or exhaust flow is not really making more horsepower or torque, it is just shifting the powerband around to favor one or the other in a specific range, so in general i fyou shift the powerband UP the rpm range to gain hp you will loose low end torque and vice versa if you shift it for low end torque you will loose peak hp

Old 02-17-2013, 11:21 PM
JeeperDon
All Star
Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts

Nevermind.

Last edited by JeeperDon; 02-18-2013 at 09:14 AM.
Old 02-18-2013, 07:56 AM
shrpshtr325
THE ULTI-MOD