1st Gen Neon 1995 through 1999 Neons

Cracked head?

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2007, 12:33 AM
Likemyjunk
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cracked head?

First of all I will tell you all now that I am no master mechanic. But I certainly can hold my own from time to time.

I recently bought (For the second time) a 95 Neon Sport DOHC from my ex. (Yes I paid for the car twice, once for her then again from her)

She claimed it was running fine but overheating. Her husband started to tear into it claiming that the water pump was leaking a great deal. He had the mount out the front timing cover etc... So I grabbed it up cheap and dragged it home on the trailer.

I tore into it and found a very bad water pump indeed... I decided to change the head gasket, timing belt, tensioners, plugs wires etc... After getting the head off I found zero evidence of a leaking head gasket. Cleaned things up as I normaly would and through it all back together. When I first fired it up I noted that it was smoking like none other and even had a slight miss to it. First thing I noticed was a vacuum leak where the old PCV hose was hard and broke at the PCV Valve. I sort of placed it where it needed to be which stopped the leak and smoothed out the engine. By this point I note the engine was overheating. I shut it down...

Then I pulled the thermostat with hopes it was not opening. No change, still overheating. Also I noted the fans did not seem to kick on properly.

Now I did run an oil additive that always seems to cause smoke for a short period of time but overall always madea difference. Pissed off I left the car alone for three days thinking the head was cracked.