1st Gen Neon 1995 through 1999 Neons

How to replace a thermometer on a 1998 Dodge Neon with a 2.0L SOHC engine?

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2009, 08:10 PM
Witch
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to replace a thermometer on a 1998 Dodge Neon with a 2.0L SOHC engine?

I'm not a car expert but I've been asking around and I've come to the conclusion I broke the thermometer in my car engine. Long story short, I wasn't able to remove the lid for the engine coolant/radiator on my car engine and I believe I ended up damaging the thermometer. Don't ask me why I was trying to remove it. I can't remember since it's been a while. Now the car overheats and I need to replace the thermometer. If you want to know how I know that, go ahead and ask, but for simplicity, I'd rather not make this a longer post than needed.

By the way, the thermometer on the dash inside of the car behind the steering wheel is broken. The hand won't move at all regardless of how cold or hot the engine is.

I searched for thermometer replacements on the Auto Zone site and found this page:
http://www.autozone.com/autozone/cat...&parentId=52-0

Is replacing a thermometer something that me, someone with no experience with car engines, should do or should I ask look for assistance from a trained technician? I can't exactly find anything on how to replace this on the internet. Besides that, I don't even know which of those three parts I need in the above link.

Might I need a new thermostat gasket as well? (http://www.autozone.com/autozone/cat...&parentId=52-0)

Old 09-30-2009, 08:49 PM
ottoretto
Professional

bro, that is not to much necesary, u can remove it from ur car if its that what is broken, other thing, without that the car will not overheat or sumthing like that, if u want remove it and use some sealer to evoid water leak... about the thermometer on the dash, what is broken, the stick (pointer) on it??

Old 10-01-2009, 03:26 PM
bg1995redneon
Captain