1st Gen Neon 1995 through 1999 Neons

top End Swap Questions-Dohc back to Sohc

Search this Thread

Old 11-02-2009, 10:54 PM
96NeonJunk
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation top End Swap Questions-Dohc back to Sohc

Hey guys, I bought a 1996 dodge Neon 4dr couple weeks back...for the most part she was running pretty good, til day before yesterday, I started hearing a metallic squealing coming from the cam gears area...well now i found out after the car stop running, that basically more then half the cam cap bolts were stripped, and somehow, jumped time and broke the intake camshaft. Anyway i'm very new to the neon crowd. The guy i bought it off of swapped in wire harnesses, head,intake etc from a '99 dohc car. The shortblock itself is still a sohc set-up. Well since the dohc head that i just pulled from my car is basically junk, i know a guy that has a nice pnp sohc head, zexs cam, fidanza adj cam gear, intake...the really rare sohc cast intake, extruded honed,etc...that was on some m/y cars in '96....anyway i wanted to look into installing this head onto my car...back to somewhat factory configuration...correct me if i'm wrong and shine lil light in here 4 me...since the car is wired for a '99, i need engine harness for '97-'99 sohc, and ecu and other excessories, correct...if need be i can run the dohc ecu til i can get a sohc ecu....believe she'll just run real rich. car is mtx...but so far i have picked up sohc header, atx t/b the head and intake...i know alot of guys are going to bust my chops about goin back to sohc...but with a decent amount of work( bolt-ons) she can hang just fine with dohc cams...just looking for lil info on what i would need to go back to sohc...

Old 11-03-2009, 10:20 AM
bg1995redneon
Captain

You really need to find a 96-99 Neon SOHC MTX in a JY and get the PCM and front and rear wiring harnesses (unless you like to splice connectors).