1st Gen Ram Tech '93 & older Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve 1993 Rams and older. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

86 ram wirinbg problems??

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2011, 10:07 PM
99_dingo
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 86 ram wirinbg problems??

hello guys im new to this thread not to the forum i have a durango anywas. i recently bought a 86 ram w250 and my gauges dont work the speedo does work and they all stay them same when i start it i pulled the insturment cluster today and the back looks rusty idk how and i dont have no rear tailights running or brake but reverse and plate light works any ideas?

Old 11-11-2011, 10:39 PM
crazzywolfie
Legend
Received 71 Likes on 67 Posts

the speedo is mechanical so unless the cable breaks it will keep working. first placed you may want to start is the fuse panel. first you want to check to see if all the fuses are good. if they are all good then you will to check to see if there is power at all the fuses. some fuses only have power when the key is in the accessories or run position. if that does not make your gauges start working then you may have a bad voltage regulator(metal box) on the back of your gauge cluster.

Old 11-15-2011, 12:32 AM
99_dingo

ok everything is good now where do i get a regulator?

Old 11-15-2011, 07:15 AM
SEAL
Champion
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

I would figure out what the problem is with the tail lights first and see if the fix takes care of the gauge problem.

Old 11-15-2011, 07:59 AM
crazzywolfie
Legend