1st Gen Ram Tech '93 & older Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve 1993 Rams and older. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Random Stalling Mystery.....93 B150

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2018, 05:43 PM
olddaddy
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Random Stalling Mystery.....93 B150

I'm posting here because I believe mechanically my 93 B150 Van is the same as the 1st gen Ram trucks, 5.2/318 V8, automatic trans, throttle body etc.......I started having random stalling at idle, then under acceleration, at highway speeds and then deceleration and so on. I studied the forums, looked up the codes and got advice from a retired Mopar mechanic I know. This led to a long string of parts replacements, but not a cure of the stalling. To date I've done the plenum gasket, cleaned throttle body, replaced distributor, wires, plugs, all filters, PCM, EGR, ECT, TPS, MAP, coil, idle air control, intake air temp sensor, fuel pump, fuel pump relay and filter. It stalled so bad yesterday I barely got it up to speed to drive it home. It showed code 37 when I got home, torque converter sensor/trans temp sensor. I don't see one on my truck unless I'm looking in the wrong place, the side of the bellhousing.

I'm at a loss for what to do next. Any advice? Any good Mopar techs online I can contact and pay for advice? My local shops are not interested in 25 year old Dodge vans!

I've owned this truck for 12 years, it's high mileage, 255K, but well cared for. The only thing on the truck that has not been rebuilt or replaced is the lower end of the engine. I drive it daily and keep it in good shape except for this stalling mystery.

Thanks for the help!

Last edited by olddaddy; 05-06-2018 at 06:26 PM.
Old 05-06-2018, 09:14 PM
HeyYou
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 3,276 Likes on 3,023 Posts