2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

Just introducing myself...

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2010 | 10:35 AM
twitchy
|
Professional
Default Just introducing myself...

Hello,

Just introducing myself. I'm 33, married and a proud new owner of a 2000 Dodge Dakota Sport 4x2 CC 3.9L V6. She's got everything I need in a truck except maybe more engine ... but I still love her.

I'm not a home mechanic, but I would love to be able to do some work myself. Someday perhaps that'll be an option... for now I rely on my mechanic...

I've always wanted a Truck, and this was the best option to suit myself and the wife's needs as well. Wife wanted comfort, decent fuel economy, and functionality... I wanted a Truck...

Ford Ranger is essentially a car, with big wheels, so that was out; Chevy Xtreme was too small, but lots of bawls... too small for the wife though, not enough elbow room, and not enough for the Dog... fair enough, that was out too; Ram and F150 are too big (I'm a little guy, and anything bigger than a mid-size is too big for me)

So we found a Dodge Dakota, took it for a spin and fell in love.

She's got dual Magnaflow exhaust, and everything else, (for now...) is stock.

She needs a little work, but she's in good condition... minor rust, typical Dodge 'bubble' over the rear passenger side wheel well... and some rust in the frame. All of which can be cleaned up.

Needing new shocks, pinion seal, and as of this past weekend, the bolts holding the pipe to the header rusted out with the heat and rough highway trip we had. gotta get that in ASAP to get it fixed. Probably something I could do on my own though if I had a shop. Seems like a simple enough job (perhaps a little naive on my part?)

Anyway, I look forward to being a part of the community here.

PICS
These pics are from the dealer, prior to a few touch ups...
I'll take some additional shots later on...