2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

Coolant Help

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2011, 10:02 AM
toolmodel
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Coolant Help

So I picked up my new to me quad cab 2004 Dakota yesterday and was eager to start working on it. I was told it needed a coolant change so I went ahead and did it for the first time. It all went downhill from there.... I drained the radiator via the plug and got much less coolant out than I expected so I turn the truck on to get the coolant to flow while adding water. Then I filled the reservoir and tried to get that to flow into the system which I assume now has a substantial amount of air in it. The engine rose in temp extremely. How do I correct what I have done? I am a fairly good mechanic but something went wrong here. Any and all help is much appreciated.

Old 07-20-2011, 10:48 AM
01SilverCC
Record Breaker
Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts

The radiator drain might be clogged up. Maybe try disconnecting the lower radiator hose, either at the water pump or at the radiator. You should get a lot more water/coolant out of the engine and radiator that way. Then refill with a 50/50 mixture of new antifreeze and distilled water.

To get the air bubbles out of the system you need to let the truck run with the heater set on high until the truck reaches operating temperature, and leave the radiator cap off. When you see bubbles in the coolant when looking down the filler neck you have air in the system. Let it run until there are no more bubbles, then top it off with 50/50 coolant/water again. You might have to do that several times to get all of the air out. Check the coolant levels over the next few days to be sure it is correct and add if needed.