2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

A/C clutch not engaging

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2013, 07:55 PM
travelcat
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A/C clutch not engaging

2001 Dakota SLD 4x4 4.7l V8... I'm not a mechanic, and I don't have many tools, but I do like to do simple stuff, or at least diagnostics, before bringing the truck to the mechanic. I like to at least sound like I'm informed...

Recently I noted that my AC had stopped being cold, so of course I recharged it. I noted that the clutch is not engaging, even after waiting a bit after recharging and checking again. The air is plenty cold now but the clutch hasn't engaged in a while now. All that happens when I turn the AC on is the idle speed goes up.

First, could this be a simple fuse problem? If so, which one? It's not obvious which might go to the AC.

Somewhere in the cobwebs of my mind, I seem to remember that maybe the clutch can get stuck off if the freon gets too low (which it did before I recharged it), and there's a way to force it to engage? Might be way off on this!

Anyway, if there's any simple fixes I can try, or simple ways to diagnose the problem so I know what needs to be repaired, I'd appreciate any advice. I don't have a voltmeter.

Old 09-11-2013, 08:02 PM
jkeaton
DF Admin
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 338 Likes on 302 Posts

It may be just too low on refrigerant. How much did you put in? Jump the low pressure switch momentarily. That should force the compressor clutch to engage. There is fuse for the compressor. Not sure which one it is. If the fuse box lid does not have a fuse legend printed on it, you can just pull them all out one by one to see if one is blown. You can get a voltmeter for around $10. You should invest in one and also a chiltons or haynes manual if you are going to be doing any kind of do-it-yourself work on your vehicle.

Old 09-11-2013, 08:13 PM
00DakDan
Section Moderator