2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

leaf springs?

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2014, 10:20 AM
indiglofish61
Amateur
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool leaf springs?

I would like to know how hard it is to put new leaf springs on a Dodge Dakota SLT 3.9L V6 2000, has anyone done this, and if so what would be the difficulty level on a scale of 1 to 10? This is my first try at this kind of thing, actually I am putting new shocks and springs.

Old 09-25-2014, 10:31 AM
jkeaton
DF Admin
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 337 Likes on 301 Posts

First, why do you need new leaf springs? Second, not hard at all. Your haynes manual will show you how to do it. Jack the truck up, remove the wheels, support the axle, unbolt the old ones, install the new ones.

Old 09-25-2014, 11:32 AM
98DAKAZ
Champion
Received 32 Likes on 30 Posts
Exclamation

I suggest getting a friend that understands this kind of stuff to help you out and not do it alone as you seem to be very uneducated on this stuff.

It can be dangerous jacking a car up so get help from someone that understands what you want done and go for it.

Read read read and watch as many videos as you can before going for it plan it out understand what you are doing before you do it.

Old 09-25-2014, 11:38 AM
98DAKAZ
Champion

https://www.google.com/?gws_rd=ssl#t...+jack+up+a+car

Watch the videos learn we were all lost the first time we worked on our autos always ask questions any auto parts shop can give you advise on many of these things just beware they may be wrong always check what people tell you double check any answers given you.

Old 09-25-2014, 11:44 AM
bigclubs
Amateur
Received 1 Like on 1 Post