2nd Gen Neon 2000 - 2005 2nd Gen Neon

Battery Problem, Please Help!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2012, 02:50 PM
Newman1992
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Battery Problem, Please Help!!

Hi guys! Well about 5 months ago, the car was sitting or around 2weeks, because I was out of college.... I go to turn it on and it's failed to start. Battery was dead. So I figured it was just the battery, so I went ahead and bought a new one, it worked for about 4 1/2 months fine. Then I had another 2weeks off, went back and the battery is dead. So something is obviously draining this bad boy, it's a 2001 Dodge Neon SE, does anyone have any idea where should I should start?

I am not a mechanic and the only thing I have done before, was change 2 fuel filters on a bmw 540 i 94........... I really have no experience with cars at all, if you do guide me I am willingly myself to go through it though and fix where the drain is at.

Thank you all,

-Newman

Old 07-18-2012, 03:54 PM
darthroush
Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Test your alternator and then use a test light on fuses when the car is off. With the exception for a couple of fuses that have constant power, the test light should either be off or have a faint glow (and only for certain things). If it lights up and that circuit shouldn't have power, that's a draw.

Old 07-18-2012, 04:17 PM
Newman1992

Hey darthroush, thanks for the reply!

First, I think the alternating is running fine because it does charge it up when the car is running, it was working for about 5months no problems when I used the car every other day. But only when I didn't use the car for about 2 1/2 - 3 weeks is when it died, so is it safe to say that it has to be a drainage somewhere?