2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

hollowed conv.

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2007, 08:18 PM
FFFD827
Professional
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default hollowed conv.

Have any of you simply hollowed out your converter and re-installed is. Im a welder so it would be nothing for me to remove and split it i could clean it out weld it back togeather and put it back in. has anyone tried this yet to see how it works???

Old 07-30-2007, 08:29 PM
Cereal Killer
Champion
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default RE: hollowed conv.

I think most people do this. And it works like a champ.

Only bitch is if you have emissions testing where you live.

Old 07-30-2007, 08:30 PM
OlsenG_360
Professional

I'm sure some people have done it, i'm not sure if anyone would "officially" admit to it however. If i was going to do it and had no welding knowledge or skill *ahem* i'd unbolt the exhaust at the front of the muffler and remove it, then it's almost a perfectly straight shot into the cat from there, a piece of rebar or steel fence post *might* work as a battering ram with a hammer for persuasion. Of course I'd pull both the O2 sensors out first to avoid damaging them. A few good knocks on the sides of the cat should work to loosen up the catalyst, and a good spirited run down the interstate without a muffler should evacuate what's loose inside the case. may take a few cycles of this to get everything out.

Again, I would never recommend that someone breaks the law, but if it was a matter of my cat being plugged up and the truck not runningwell enough to get me to work the next day...these instructions might look pretty tempting.

Old 07-30-2007, 08:34 PM
FFFD827
Professional

Thanks guys. would it bother the o2 sensors at all after they were re-installed would they give a code?