2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

gas...

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2008, 04:09 PM
5.9madness
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default gas...

Hi, i am new to dodge trucks and i have a 99 single cab ram 1500 4x4 with the 5.9 360 and 97k miles. I am now getting about 8 mpg and most of my driving is around highway speeds. I was thinking of getting a tacoma that would get better gas mileage, but i really want to keep my dodge...its the sound of the y pipe i cant give up.

First, what is average mpg for this engine?
Second, i was thinking of putting performance parts on my engine to try and increase mpg. Does anyone have any suggestions for what parts can help me out? I was thinking of a throttle body spacer, intake system and some sort of engine management system, as well as fixing the leaking gasket that connects the block to the transmission.
Third, if i do modify the engine, what kind of gas mileage can i expect?

Thanks!

[IMG]local://upfiles/86526/B2232DED982D43BEA0CB07529716BB9C.jpg[/IMG]

Old 03-20-2008, 04:31 PM
turkeyhunter1962
All Star
Default RE: gas...

ORIGINAL: 5.9madness

Hi, i am new to dodge trucks and i have a 99 single cab ram 1500 4x4 with the 5.9 360 and 97k miles. I am now getting about 8 mpg and most of my driving is around highway speeds. I was thinking of getting a tacoma that would get better gas mileage, but i really want to keep my dodge...its the sound of the y pipe i cant give up.

First, what is average mpg for this engine?