2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Truck dying- fuel pump? Please help :)

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2009, 12:11 AM
thaduke2003
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Truck dying- fuel pump? Please help :)

Hey all. My name is Mark- I'm a horse trainer and grease monkey by trade. New to the forums, but not to cars, Ma Mopar, and headaches.
My most recent headache is my fiancee's '99 Dodge Ram 2500 5.9L (360 gas). The truck has just about 70k of HARD miles on it. It was a municipal truck in AZ (I hadn't met her when she bought it, and don't want it to break us up already! ), and was never maintained.
A bit of background. Just did plugs, wires, cap, and rotor on the truck. The heat shields for the plug boots were FULL of caked-in dirt. Took FOUR hours to clean it all out and swap in the new bits. Lovely. After this, however, the truck ran fine, and had decent power.
Today, installed a K&N Filtercharger kit. No problems there. Her stock airbox had been cracked, allowing lots of unfiltered air in, thus the intake. On first test drive, truck ran fine- nice new sexy power.
After driving for a bit, she mentioned the truck suddenly seemed to die on power going up hills. She wasn't kidding! I drove it home just now- up a MILD incline, I could barely get it above 30 MPH.
To my seasoned booty, it feels like it's hitting fuel cut/dying on fuel. The truck would barely rev past 3,500, and when I put my foot into it, it wouldn't give me anything more.
My first thought here is fuel pump crapping out.
Beyond what I think and feel, any ideas?
I've been a wrench jockey for years in the high performance field. I can tell you with near certainty that the intake is NOT at fault.