2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

all-metal radiator?

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2009, 01:25 AM
over2land
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default all-metal radiator?

My 94 with the 5.9 and auto trans has a leaking radiator.

I want an all metal one, with more cooling surface area than that stock metal/plastic/BS one.

I don't care if its aluminum or brass/copper, but price matters to me, up to a point.

I'm new to Dodges, and don't even know if 4-core radiators exist, but that's what I'd like...

Basically the biggest radiator I can fit in this truck would be good. As long as its all metal.

Anyone got any leads on such a thing?

Old 07-10-2009, 05:50 AM
Laramie1997
Grand Champion
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Old 07-10-2009, 07:19 AM
Twisted Metal
Captain

Price matters up to a point? What is that point? Off the top of my head, and all aluminum radiator will start at $500. I have my built for the race cars, local guy done busines with him for years. My Cost on them is $750. Sounds like someone is looking for champagne, but only got Mad Dog 20/20 money in his pocket.

(Thanks Laramie, that smiley made me chuckle, and very appropriate)

Old 07-10-2009, 10:11 AM
sungod
Veteran
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I think it would be money better spent to stick with the inexpensive stock radiator and spend money on an electric fan if you are concerned about cooling.

Old 07-10-2009, 10:20 AM
audiomechanic
Captain

What about the stock radiator that came in the cummins? I believe it's plastic/metal but I believe it's thicker as well. Should bolt right in though.

Someone will correct me if I'm wrong.

Old 07-10-2009, 10:35 AM
sawtooth
Rookie
Old 07-10-2009, 11:20 AM
Ram15002ndGen
Record Breaker