2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

New to this Forum

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2010, 11:50 PM
tattooviking
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool New to this Forum

Hey everybody I am new to thid forum and have gotten alot of great tips and advice looking through your threads. I have a 97 1500 extended cab 31.5" tires 4" lift I love my truck! Having a rear diff issue. fluid is pouring out where it meets the drive shaft...so now I am off to search those threads.
I wanted to again thank all of you for your advice!!!

Old 02-19-2010, 11:57 PM
95_318SLT
Champion
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Welcome to DodgeForum!!

Sounds like a bad pinion seal. Should be very cheap and easy to replace. Remove the driveshaft from the yoke, remove the pinion nut and slide the yoke off, replace the seal, grease the seal, slide the yoke back on, put the pinion nut back on with lots of threadlock and reinstall the driveshaft.

Note... If you have the Corp. 9.25" diff, the pinion nut gets tightened down to 210 ft*lbs... and you need to make sure that is very accurate!!!!

Last edited by 95_318SLT; 02-20-2010 at 12:12 AM.
Old 02-20-2010, 12:02 AM
bigtman07
Captain

^+1 on the pinion seal and Welcome to Dodge Forum.

Old 02-20-2010, 12:05 AM
tattooviking

Thanks for the advice guys, this will be Sundays project for me lol, and thanks for the welcome

Old 02-20-2010, 12:28 AM
KY BIGRAM
Veteran

The pinion nut is tuff to get off by your self. Me and a friend couldn't even do it due to the sponge(feel) in the shafts. I was replacing mine on a