Go Back  DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 2nd Gen Ram Tech
Reload this Page >

performance ignition coils

2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

performance ignition coils

  #1  
Old 06-23-2010, 08:31 PM
1999dodgeram
1999dodgeram is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 58
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default performance ignition coils

hey i have a 1999 dodge ram 1500 with the 5.2 and can't find a performance coil for it anywhere. accel makes an adapter so you can use their super coil but i was wondering if this would work for the msd blaster. has anyone tried this? here are links to the 2 parts

adapter - http://www.jegs.com/i/Accel/110/140021AH/10002/-1

msd coil - http://www.jegs.com/i/MSD+Ignition/121/8228/10002/-1
 
  #2  
Old 06-23-2010, 08:37 PM
CPTAFW163's Avatar
CPTAFW163
CPTAFW163 is offline
Champion
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Ft Campbell, KY/TN
Posts: 2,811
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

go with the MSD coil. Hughes sells it.

About the adapter, you can pull one from a 1996. Just hack it off and give yourself about 9 inches of wire.

THat's what i did for my setup.

HOWEVER, a coil by itself will do nothing for you, you can gap your plugs a bit more but that is it. You need to get the MSD box and the coil to see a difference.
 
  #3  
Old 06-23-2010, 08:41 PM
lastrights's Avatar
lastrights
lastrights is offline
Grand Champion
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: the burgh
Posts: 5,848
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

yeah i have a msd coil and did nothing i need the box
 
  #4  
Old 06-23-2010, 08:41 PM
lastrights's Avatar
lastrights
lastrights is offline
Grand Champion
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: the burgh
Posts: 5,848
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by CPTAFW163 View Post
go with the MSD coil. Hughes sells it.

About the adapter, you can pull one from a 1996. Just hack it off and give yourself about 9 inches of wire.

THat's what i did for my setup.

HOWEVER, a coil by itself will do nothing for you, you can gap your plugs a bit more but that is it. You need to get the MSD box and the coil to see a difference.
how hard was it to install the box , and how often do you change your plugs cap and rotor ?
 
  #5  
Old 06-23-2010, 08:55 PM
CPTAFW163's Avatar
CPTAFW163
CPTAFW163 is offline
Champion
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Ft Campbell, KY/TN
Posts: 2,811
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by lastrights View Post
how hard was it to install the box , and how often do you change your plugs cap and rotor ?
It was easy as pie. I can do a DIY on it.

the only wire you need to cut are the wires going to the coil (ignition wires). you are basically connecting the box to where you cut the wires (Wires going INTO the box) and splicing the wires coming out of the box to the coil connector.

PAGE 20 Is all you need: LATE MODEL 2 PIN CONNECTOR
http://static.summitracing.com/globa...0_frm28645.pdf

Dodge made it easy because the ignition (key) wire and the coil wire are both in the wires that go to the coil.

I have my box mounted on the fusebox cover. it is close to the battery.

--Dan
 
  #6  
Old 06-23-2010, 08:59 PM
1999dodgeram
1999dodgeram is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 58
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

are you able to run the msd box with a superchip installed?
 
  #7  
Old 06-23-2010, 09:04 PM
lastrights's Avatar
lastrights
lastrights is offline
Grand Champion
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: the burgh
Posts: 5,848
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

cool !do you think its worth it ? and how often you have to change plugs and stuff
 
  #8  
Old 06-23-2010, 09:06 PM
CPTAFW163's Avatar
CPTAFW163
CPTAFW163 is offline
Champion
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Ft Campbell, KY/TN
Posts: 2,811
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 1999dodgeram View Post
are you able to run the msd box with a superchip installed?
yes. the MSD does not go into the computer. Although my camaro had a weird thing:

The RPM needle would BURY ITSELF TO THE MAX when the MSD kicked in and did a continuous spark. Luckily our trucks do not measure RPMs that way.

You will notice a big difference at WOT with a MSD. ANd it gives a bit of power. YOu just need to utilize it the right way.

GAP THE PLUGS: lay around here. go big on the gap then bracket it down. That is the biggest thing that the MSD box and coil allows you to do.

As for cap and rotor replacement. Since the MSD gives you 3X the spark, you will go through caps/rotors/plugs/wires 3x as fast.

I do tune ups once per year. Brass terminal rotors are the best. I get the accel truck tune up kit, but i think the spark plugs are too short. They were about .25" sorter than the stock champions. But they run very well. I will probably go with champions or NGK and the accel cap and rotor next.

If you get better wires, then you won't have to worry about changing them once per year.
 
  #9  
Old 06-23-2010, 09:12 PM
1999dodgeram
1999dodgeram is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 58
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

alrighty well thanks for the help i'll be picking up a coil and box tomorrow and stoppin by the junkyard for a wire as well. thanks again
 
  #10  
Old 06-24-2010, 02:22 PM
lastrights's Avatar
lastrights
lastrights is offline
Grand Champion
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: the burgh
Posts: 5,848
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

good to know !
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: performance ignition coils


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: