2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

4wd actuator issues

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2010, 09:32 PM
offroadgearhead
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 4wd actuator issues

I bought a 95 ram 1500 5.9L from a so called "mechanic" over a month ago. Well, I've put a new tranny and a lot of other stuff into it trying to get it road ready. Finally got it on the road the other day and noticed that even though I had it in 2wd it drove like a truck that was in 4wd......it was.

Well, the indicator lamp switch is broken and the actuator is "stuck" in 4wd.

I'm no expert on these CAD axles, but i think that this guy has improperly assembled the 4wd actuator unit. The fork was not between the two c-clips, but rather on the outside of the last one. So, the way I see it, no matter which way the actuator went, the fork couldn't move. So, does anyone have a pic of how this SHOULD go back together?

Also, I took the actuator free of the rest of the assembly, and hooked it back up to the vacuum lines. When I shift to 4wd, it pushed straight out, but when I go back to 2wd, nothing. I can press it back in by hand and it will stay until I shift to 4wd again. So, is this unit pretty much busted? or am I missing some sort of spring in this assembly?

I'm kinda clueless on this right now.

Old 09-14-2010, 09:47 PM
dhvaughan
Hall Of Fame
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

this shows how it works.
http://dodgeram.org/tech/repair/4X4/4x4_engagment.htm