2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Work truck improvements?

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2010, 09:56 PM
jimmyboy
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Work truck improvements?

Hello guys, my names James and im new to dodgeforum, been trollin around for a while tho , so im 16 and work out of my truck and would like to know what would make my life easier, its a 2wd so posi and stuff like that would be nice, but stuff like toolboxes, lift, things of that nature are what im looking for, any advice?

Old 12-30-2010, 09:57 PM
TheBigRedOne

Buy something that would help you with your work? Not really sure what you're asking here. The Gas/Oil/Fluids/Maintenance mod usually does well.

Old 12-30-2010, 10:15 PM
jimmyboy

lol guess i deserved that answer, im looking for stuff that will make my 2wd more usable, i work in mud and snow, crap like that so posi? winch? heavier bumper for farming? idk, maybe a 3 inch lift and 33's? w.e will make a completely stock 2wd more usable for working out of.

Old 12-30-2010, 10:30 PM
TheBigRedOne

Oh lord this is my thread. What type of work do you do?

Old 12-30-2010, 10:31 PM
Gerehead8
Record Breaker
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

A locker should be put in a 2wd rather than a posi as you really need all the traction you can get.

For a working truck a reciever mount winch with front and rear recievers is handy.

Don't get a lift if you want toolboxes as my truck is very tall and I cannot really use my toolbox from the ground. I also suggest getting the half opening (2 lifting sides) toolboxes rather than full (whole lid opens) opening as the latter is difficult to close from the side of the truck. The lid will flex and not latch properly.

Extra fluid coolers will help.