2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Got a few questions.

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2011, 12:21 PM
Twilliams22
Amateur
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Got a few questions.

Hey guys, Im new here! (my first post)

so id like to start off by saying that im only 17, i got to auto tech for my 2nd year, and im still pretty new at all this stuff.
so bare with me please.

so my pop pop wants to give me his '00 Ram 1500 reg cap, auto, 2wd.
(i have the vin if needed)

and he told me that the tranny in it is pretty much done for. well i know hes not the brightest when it comes to cars. but i was hoping there was something i could do before i was forced to overhaul/rebuild or buy a new trans for it.

Im pretty sure it has over 140k ish miles. (i still have to call him and see whats really wrong with it Example: gear slippage or like if it wont go into gear) He told me it runs. so i have no clue.

I been doing a little research. and i was woundering if maybe one of these would be better than doing a whole rebuild or buying a new trans:
-check valve delete
-new filter
-band adj
-bigger pan
-external filter
-Sonnax Sure Cure

and if i was forced to get a new tranny. would it be cheaper to just get a rebuild or buy a new tranny.

and as much as i love dodge they been in my family for as long as i remember. but im woundering if maybe im just better in buying a used car.

Thanks for any help.

~Tyler

Old 03-20-2011, 12:41 PM
HeyYou
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 3,276 Likes on 3,023 Posts

If you have a reasonable job, or, don't have to pay for your own gas..... the trucks really aren't that bad. Just depends on what you want.