2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Looking for advice/suggestions (long post)

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2011, 05:57 PM
FreeDodge
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking for advice/suggestions (long post)

Hey guys,

New to the forum and I just wanted to start off by thanking everyone for the insane amount of information!

That being said I am feeling overwhelmed and not sure what all I should be doing in my situation.

So I have a 94 1500 4x4 with 5.2 318. This truck has 172k miles on it. I received it free as a gift from my cousin, who had it sitting for over a year. He got busy with work, the truck started needing some repairs so he parked it rather than fixing it.

I have little to no knowledge when it comes to cars/engines but have a large group of friends/family that I can help. I have been struggling a lot reading through the forums understanding the parts/lingo/abbreviations but thanks to google, I am getting it slowly.

I sold my truck which I had payments on, so I could get this truck as my wife and I are trying to get out of debt and improve our personal finances. So I would like to keep my overall costs as low as possible because we are throwing every extra penny at our debt.

I drove the truck 4 hours to get it home and for the most part it did alright. The last 60 miles or so though it started loosing acceleration and even though I would step on the gas more, I would loose power and it would not go. At one point I couldn't go over 15mph. I noticed though then that when I stopped for about 10 mins to call someone to tow me, when I got back in I had full power for a bit and then it slowed to about 40 mph when I was traveling 60. I was able to park for about an hour while waiting and then decided to go again and was able to make it home at 60 mph.