2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

1999 Dodge Ram 2500 V10 Oil Gelling Issue

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2012, 12:25 PM
FangsDemon
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1999 Dodge Ram 2500 V10 Oil Gelling Issue

Hey there, I am new to the Form,

I am currently working on a project Truck that i am going to buy off the owner. It is a 1999 Dodge Ram 2500 with the 8.0L V10 Engine and is a 4X4 that has been lifted. the truck only has 109,500 miles and is in overal great shape.

My question(s) then would be this.

What Would cause the Oil to gell up inside the engine?
What is the easiest way to solve the issue and clean out the sludge from the oil pan? (truck has been sitting for 2 years now, but will still crank up and run)
and wat is the best oil to run in the motor to keep from having this issue again?

Thanks for any and all help!!

Side note: the Owner was running full Syn oil, had no problems, took the truck to a local dealer (that will remain nameless) to hav the oil done. then it started to have oil pressure issues (He believes they put reg or cheep oil in), then he stoped driving the truck to save the engine after it lost all oil pressure. (once the pressure droped, he turned off the truck, and went to the side of the road, then towed the truck back)

Old 09-02-2012, 12:28 PM
stewie01
Legend
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I've no clue about the gelling oil. But you could use a mechanical pressure gauge to see what the oil pressure is really doing.............Unless you've already done that.....

Old 09-02-2012, 12:30 PM
HeyYou
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 3,390 Likes on 3,130 Posts