2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

School me - V10 Performance Parts

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2013, 09:36 AM
blackskyracing
Veteran
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default School me - V10 Performance Parts

Ok, first off Google sucks and searching here has turned up very little. Must be my search queiry... Anyway, I mostly build Cummins for a living now and I'm used to having aftermarket parts availability that rivals a small block chevy. I loaned out our 95 shop beater to a customer who abused it with 20,000 loads on the GN (didn't downsize the loads from what he pulled with the compound turbo Cummins I built for him) and he took the bottom end out of the engine. I have yet to tear it down to inspect just how bad he hurt it, but it just didn't have enough power for my tastes. So, since I'll have it out and apart I was thinking a bump in compression, port work, throttle body, and cam work are in order. That work should be reletively straight forward for me, but I'm not a fan of the intake manifold nor that exhaust manifolds. Also, since this is a 95 I will likely need to switch to Mega Squirt or something to that effect for ease of tuning, suggestions on finding sources for any of these would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Old 07-16-2013, 09:39 AM
dodge dude94
Banned Goober Smoocher

Hate to be the bearer of bad news, but there isn't much you can do for a V10 besides tuning. You're going to be disappointed with any mods you're going to do as you play with/build Cummins for a living. A stock rebuild with some PCM tuning would be about as much as you could do to it.

Unless you're willing to wait for one of the V10 owners to chime in..lol

Old 07-16-2013, 09:46 AM
Wh1t3NuKle
Champion
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts