2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

OK to drive in 4WD when roads are bad?

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2013, 06:26 PM
desktop
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question OK to drive in 4WD when roads are bad?

I know this may sound like a dumb question, but I've never used 4WD in the snow before. So I wanted to ask is it all right to drive in 4WD when the roads are really bad? If so is there a limit to speed or anything I should know about? I ask because last winter I had no 4WD and the truck slipped and skidded everywhere.

Old 11-25-2013, 06:41 PM
jkeaton
DF Admin
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 349 Likes on 310 Posts

Thats what 4wd is for, when the roads are bad. Speed limit should be your common sense. Just because you have 4x4 does not mean you can just drive the speed limit when conditions are bad. Learning to drive in the snow is not something that is learned in one snowy season. Drive within your and your trucks limits. Slow down, brake easy and early. Know that 4x4 will not help you steer or stop and better than 2wd.

Old 11-25-2013, 06:49 PM
Ham Bone
Champion
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Don't brake when you're turning, ever
Go slow
4x4 doesn't make you invincible
4x4 doesn't do jack for ice
Use your gears as much as possible to slow down. Stay off the brake as much as possible

Old 11-25-2013, 07:07 PM
Thornloe Pride
Captain

I used my 4x4 tonight on the way home from work during a snowstorm. I was doing roughly 40-50mph with no problems. It's makes me feel a lot safer on the roads in bad conditions, but like people have said, not invincible

Old 11-25-2013, 08:13 PM
HeyYou
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 3,388 Likes on 3,128 Posts