2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Transmission Problems

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2014, 10:24 PM
gdodge97
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post Transmission Problems

I have a 97 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 5.9 360 sport and being I'm not experienced when it comes to the trans yet mechanically inclined and know my way around a truck thought I would ask anyone out there who might be able to help me out. The problem Im having is the transmission slips and the truck stands still. How it started is in the beginning it ran fine then the engine check light came on and I could smell that the tranny was heating up while doing so it would slip well I ended up limping it home by shutting it down letting it cool until I arrived home. Now the truck will move a few feet then then just starts slipping again. The fluid smells burnt and I hear a ticking noise coming from the trans pan. I pulled the trans pan and other than smelling burnt it didn't look bad (had a metallic look to it) I did some research and wonder if it could have anything to do with a defective solenoid??? like I said the trans is new territory for me so any insights would be helpful. Almost forgot the guy I had bought the truck from had by passed the radiator trans cooler and was running just the auxilary, why? not sure but I corrected it and made sure there was no blockage in the lines.

Old 06-29-2014, 11:18 PM
armynurse
Veteran
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts