2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

After the fresh top end build question for those that did that

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2015, 10:57 PM
wahoo209
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default After the fresh top end build question for those that did that

ok, so after having my truck down for almost all winter I have it back together and running but now I got an issue. 1999 Ram 1500 4x4 5.9 Magnum. This is my first Mopar build so I have no past experiences with Mopars to fall back on (none of my others failed believe it or not). The story is this, I went to do the Hughes intake kit and replace lifters but when I was in there, I realized the bottom end was basically trash and it wasn't lifter noise. I bought a used motor off a gut locally in person and had it to put in another truck but his son ran over the truck with their tractor so he decided to sell the motor. He swore the motor ran fine with no noises and low miles and I believed him. I really didn't want to do a whole bottom end rebuild which is why I went this route. When I was setting everything up it all felt and looked just fine. I put in a new oil pump, timing chain and gears (morse) and I went with the tensioner "upgrade". I had the heads redone at a local machine shop that I know to do really top notch work. All new bolts for everything. New performance roller lifters (was factory roller lifters anyway. Everything is new except the bottom end. When I started it up, it has a ticking that sounds like the valves are slapping closed. I let it run about 10 minutes then pulled the valve covers and re-adjusted the valves to 21 Ft# per the book (set motor to V-8 mark then set them up). There are 2 questions running through my head. First - Do Mopars usually take a while to fully pump up the lifters on a fresh fire up? I