2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Ignition problems- unsure how to proceed

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2016, 02:10 PM
TheAlmightyBeantotem
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ignition problems- unsure how to proceed

Here's what I've got going on: about a month ago I purchased a 99 dodge ram 2500 5.9l 4x4 at an auction for a very reasonable price. As a preface I'd like to add I'm no mechanic. When I got it, it was throwing several codes and I've been whittling those down as my pocketbook allows. Last Wednesday, after several rainy days, it would not start after work. I scanned the codes and came up with a camshaft position sensor fault. I cleared it (without recording the code number ) hoping maybe it was a glitch in the matrix. no such luck. I did some research and it did seem like it was a possible fix, and the computer said it was broken, so I replaced it. I could smell gas, so it seemed that spark was the issue. This was not the fix to my problem. Next I tried a spark check off my coil wire- nothing. I did resistance measurements on the coil wire and came up 5 M OHMS. I then figured the coil wire was the culprit and replaced it. Again, no such luck. My next action was the coil, R&R with no results. I swapped the starter relay with a suspected good one. Nothing. I'm now fearing the pcm or some other expensive part is at fault. I don't know how to check the computer and I'm unsure where to proceed. does anyone have any suggestions? Any help would be appreciated.

Old 03-06-2016, 02:16 PM
Gary-L
Legend
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Failure to start after a lot of rain tells me the spark plug wires are worn. Is it even turning over?

Originally Posted by TheAlmightyBeantotem