97 Ram 1500 A/C Help - DodgeForum.com

Go Back  DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 2nd Gen Ram Tech
Reload this Page >

97 Ram 1500 A/C Help

Notices
2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

97 Ram 1500 A/C Help

Reply

 
 
 
  #1  
Old 05-15-2017, 06:48 AM
ykf7b0's Avatar
ykf7b0
ykf7b0 is offline
Amateur
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 29
Default 97 Ram 1500 A/C Help

I have a new a/c system on my 97 Ram 1500 but I have a small leak and over 4 months my system got low. I have manifold gauges and was installing more r134a with the low pressure switch jumped. The problem I have is that the compressor will not disengage when appropriate pressures are reached so therefor the pressures keep climbing. When I remove jumper wire and reconnect the low pressure switch the compressor will not engage at all. What is going on here? Thanks! Greg
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-15-2017, 08:27 AM
jkeaton's Avatar
jkeaton
jkeaton is online now
Site Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Winston Salem, NC
Posts: 23,032
Default

Who installed the new ac system? What all is "new"? Why did you have to install a new system?
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-15-2017, 09:44 AM
ykf7b0's Avatar
ykf7b0
ykf7b0 is offline
Amateur
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 29
Default

Originally Posted by jkeaton View Post
Who installed the new ac system? What all is "new"? Why did you have to install a new system?
I installed the new compressor, drier, and orifice tube. I also did a flush and vacuumed it down and it held for half a day. I did the install because the clutch was howling on the oem unit and I opted for a new compressor/drier from NAPA. The new system was installed in late Jan. 2017 and was fine until this past weekend.
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-15-2017, 10:05 AM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is online now
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 50,392
Default

You evidently have power running thru the circuit.... both switches bad???? Seems unlikely, but, that's where the symptoms are pointing.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-15-2017, 11:41 AM
ykf7b0's Avatar
ykf7b0
ykf7b0 is offline
Amateur
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 29
Default

Originally Posted by HeyYou View Post
You evidently have power running thru the circuit.... both switches bad???? Seems unlikely, but, that's where the symptoms are pointing.
That 's what I was thinking too but I checked both for continuity and they are fine. ???
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-15-2017, 12:08 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is online now
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 50,392
Default

Check the connectors then.
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-15-2017, 12:40 PM
ykf7b0's Avatar
ykf7b0
ykf7b0 is offline
Amateur
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 29
Default

Originally Posted by HeyYou View Post
Check the connectors then.
I have jumped the low side pressure switch connector so it has to be good. Would the high side switch/connector have any effect on the low side switch?
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-15-2017, 12:49 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is online now
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 50,392
Default

No. It's a series circuit, BOTH switches have to be closed for the compressor to run. If the low pressure switch tests good, and you also have continuity across the high pressure switch, but, it won't run with the low pressure switch plugged in..... I would still suspect the switch. Continuity is VERY low amperage..... compressor clutch is not. The switch may test fine under no load, but, fail in a loaded condition.
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-15-2017, 08:46 PM
ykf7b0's Avatar
ykf7b0
ykf7b0 is offline
Amateur
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 29
Default

I have just noticed the temperature gauge pegs out when the ignition is switched on. Is this related to my ac issue?
 
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-15-2017, 09:32 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is online now
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 50,392
Default

Does it stay there?

Unlikely it's related. Check the sensor located on the passenger side of the intake, toward the front. (it's on the coolant crossover, near the passenger side head.)
 
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Featured Sponsors

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: