Whining, oil consumption, high idle, plenum again already? - DodgeForum.com

Go Back  DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 2nd Gen Ram Tech
Reload this Page > Whining, oil consumption, high idle, plenum again already?
Notices
2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Whining, oil consumption, high idle, plenum again already?

Reply

 
 
  #1  
Old 09-20-2017, 09:40 AM
CJSuhr's Avatar
CJSuhr
CJSuhr is offline
Veteran
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Omaha NE
Posts: 299
Default Whining, oil consumption, high idle, plenum again already?

So just wanna get some help.
Not too long ago, I swapped in my manual transmisssion, and when I did I had the motor out and did the plenum.

I used dormans kit, and had a Cnc cut 1/4" aluminum plate I bought off eBay. I torqued down everything correctly and have had no problems.

Now i have a problem. One day when I went to pick up tires from another store for work, I noticed when it was idling a constant whine, kinda like the high pitched whine that come from Chevy fuel pumps. I drive it back to work and then home once the day was over, and it was still there. Same pitch, nothing changed it, not getting on it, not speed. It sounded like it was coming from the center of the intake. I took off the air filter and didn't notice anything weird, and then I started it took off the engine breather and it had a lot of vacuum, so I covered it, and the whine almost completely when away. Now I know it's supposed to have vacuum, but how much?

I then checked my oil and it was about 3 qts low, not even close to the oil change. Usually only drinks 1/2 quart every 6000. So I filled it and drove it, whine got way quieter, I can barley hear it now. I checked the oil today and was not even on the stick so I gotta fill it up again. But the whole situation happened 2 weeks ago, so I'm not sure why. It's just all of a sudden it Happens.

Ever since the whineing started I've had a high idle at like 1000, and it used to idle around 500-700. It's like it has a massive vac leak.

I'm going to look down the tb later today, but I kinda want to get some of your opinions. Im suspecting my plenum went and I'm super pissed if it did.

I just want to get some opinions and help, I know the sticky at the top of the page, but this is just odd, concerning the whining, everything else leads to the plenum.
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-20-2017, 09:54 AM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 45,457
Default

Whining may be air flowing thru a blown gasket.......

High crankcase vacuum could be the plenum, or the intake gaskets for that matter. Extremely high oil consumption also points in that direction. (if you don't have any evidence of major leaks.)

Have a look down the TB, see what you see. If it's clean, probably just an intake gasket.

Thinking even further, what about the PCV valve? Is it stuck open?

Seems most folks recommend 8-14 inchs of Hg crankcase vacuum. (at idle.) That number *should* go down as the throttle opens, as, at WOT, there is ZERO vacuum in the intake.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-20-2017, 10:21 AM
CJSuhr's Avatar
CJSuhr
CJSuhr is offline
Veteran
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Omaha NE
Posts: 299
Default

Well I'll check for Oil in the plenum.

I replaced the pcv when I did the plenum.

I used the dorman intake gaskets, so I wouldn't be surprised. I know I had the intake cleaned real good with all the mating surfaces, but im not sure how I did on the heads. I put rtv around all the ports like reccomend.
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-20-2017, 10:39 AM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 45,457
Default

I only use RTV around the coolant passages, and a dab in the corners where the intake gaskets meet the valley seals... nothing anywhere else.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-20-2017, 10:59 PM
CJSuhr's Avatar
CJSuhr
CJSuhr is offline
Veteran
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Omaha NE
Posts: 299
Default

I have no idea how in the world this could have happened so fast, but my plenum is gone.

Carnage pics:
Whining, oil consumption, high idle, plenum again already?-img_4963.jpg
Whining, oil consumption, high idle, plenum again already?-img_4964.jpg
Whining, oil consumption, high idle, plenum again already?-img_4970.jpg


That little stub is the torn gasket

How do you think this could have happened? I used a 1/4 think plate, like the Hughes plate, but I bought it off eBay, and then I torqued it down. I'm pissed i have to do this again but I just wanna know why it happened.
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-21-2017, 09:33 AM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 45,457
Default

I think those bolts get torqued to like 72 INCH pounds..... if they were overtorqued, the gasket would squeeze right out.

Make sure you use a GOOD quality gasket. (fel-pro.)
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-21-2017, 10:36 AM
CJSuhr's Avatar
CJSuhr
CJSuhr is offline
Veteran
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Omaha NE
Posts: 299
Default

Yeah I know for sure I did inch pounds for sure, but I didn't use fepro, I used the doorman kit. I know people have used that and worked good, but would that be the likely problem?
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-21-2017, 10:50 AM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 45,457
Default

Yeah, I try and avoid most doorman products..... Their door hinge pin kits seem to be ok, but, their sensors, gaskets, and pretty much anything electronic suck.
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-21-2017, 11:09 AM
CJSuhr's Avatar
CJSuhr
CJSuhr is offline
Veteran
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Omaha NE
Posts: 299
Default

Well I ordered the kit again since it comes with al, the bolts and such, and I also ordered a separate gasket kit from malhe as well.
 
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-21-2017, 12:16 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 45,457
Default

Not replacing the plate are you? Don't really need too...
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Get repairs made easy
Print and online manuals

Find manuals

Featured Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:44 PM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: