2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Check engine light rough idle at start.

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2019, 01:49 AM
clayznation6
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Check engine light rough idle at start.

I’ve been reading through these forums for years and just now created an account. I love my Dodge truck and really enjoy working on it. But I’m no mechanic by no means.
I have had some issues with the CEL coming on and having a hard time keeping it running at first start. The light stays on all the time and it runs fine after a good warm up. But I have to keep peddling it until then. Trucks got 208k on it. I’ve apready been through a rear end swap, a 46re rebuild , and front end issues that I’m still trying to get a grip on. This truck is my daily driver with a 5.2l 318 2wd extended cab. I have done all the work myself from YouTube videos and these forums. Any help is much appreciated. I could take it to the shop but that’s no fun. Thanks y’all.

Old 04-26-2019, 03:19 AM
DerTruck
All Star
Received 100 Likes on 95 Posts

First step is to retrieve the error codes. Your profile says it's a 98 so try this: Start with the ignition off, then do on-off-on-off-on (ignition only, don't crank) and the odometer display shows a sequence of P codes followed by "done".

Old 04-26-2019, 03:22 AM
clayznation6

So no diagnostic tool needed huh? I’ve been a little reluctant to take it to autozone. Thanks for the info. I will try that.

Old 04-26-2019, 06:42 AM
Moparite
Grand Champion
Received 347 Likes on 327 Posts

Your profile says it's a 98 so try this: Start with the ignition off, then do on-off-on-off-on
Key dance is supposed to only work up to 97.
http://dodgeram.info/Engine-Gas/OBDI/pcm_fault_code.htm

Old 04-26-2019, 07:41 AM
jkeaton
DF Admin
Dodge Forum Administrator