Go Back  DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 2nd Gen Ram Tech
Reload this Page >

PLEASE HELP!!!! 1999 RAM 5.2L stalling

2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

PLEASE HELP!!!! 1999 RAM 5.2L stalling

  #1  
Old 05-28-2019, 04:51 PM
John Johnson
John Johnson is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default PLEASE HELP!!!! 1999 RAM 5.2L stalling

I bought this truck a couple of months ago. I test drove it and when I got back to the guys house it died. I assumed it was the tps same thing happened to my 01 Durango. Drove it home and it didn't stall but it was sputtering and had a check engine light for a 02 sensor. Changed the tps, iac, ignition coil, cleaned the throttle body, couldn't get the O2 sensor out but I unplugged it. Drove it to the gas station didn't sputter but it died while pulling in. Got gas went to leave it started up and died 2 seconds later. Had to keep one foot on the gas and one on the brake to get home. Let it sit for a couple days had it idling in the driveway for about 10 minutes then it stalled. Is it that O2 sensor and I should have a shop replace it. Or is there something else I need to look at. Need to figure it out fast about to remodel the bathroom and I don't think drywall is going to fit in the Durango.
 
  #2  
Old 05-28-2019, 05:26 PM
99DR
99DR is offline
Rookie
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Missouri (LOZ Region)
Posts: 88
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

It runs fine when you are not idling? Do you have a scan tool? Can you look at the live data and tell us what the short and long term fuel trims are at idle?
 
  #3  
Old 05-28-2019, 05:46 PM
John Johnson
John Johnson is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Do you have a scan tool?

All I have is a cheapo scan tool that only reads and clears codes.
 
  #4  
Old 05-28-2019, 06:15 PM
Moparite's Avatar
Moparite
Moparite is offline
Champion
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,065
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

What brand IAC did you put in? Aftermarket ones have a history of not working correctly. Also what condition is the battery in? What code# did you get?
 
  #5  
Old 05-28-2019, 06:28 PM
John Johnson
John Johnson is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Moparite View Post
What brand IAC did you put in? Aftermarket ones have a history of not working correctly. Also what condition is the battery in? What code# did you get?
Got the iac from AutoZone, battery only a year old got 12.5V with no load. And got p0137 and p0138 code
 
  #6  
Old 05-29-2019, 07:43 AM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 57,634
Likes: 0
Received 34 Likes on 34 Posts
Default

The aftermarket IAC motors suck. They simply don't react fast enough. Ran into the same thing on the 96 I used to have. Put in a mopar unit, reset the pcm, and no more stalling.

O2 sensor codes while the sensor itself is unplugged just isn't a surprise.
 
  #7  
Old 06-09-2019, 06:41 PM
John Johnson
John Johnson is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Ok, had someone who knows more about diagnostics than me take a look. Cleared the code and disconnected the battery for a couple of minutes. The truck stalled but there was no check engine light. Put the scan tool on it anyway and got p1391. Going to have him change the crank and camshaft sensors hopefully this weekend. Will keep you guys updated. Fingers crossed.
 
  #8  
Old 06-09-2019, 09:32 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 57,634
Likes: 0
Received 34 Likes on 34 Posts
Default

Use ONLY genuine mopar sensors. The aftermarket fellers don't always play nice.
 
  #9  
Old 06-09-2019, 10:21 PM
MoparFanatic21
MoparFanatic21 is offline
Champion
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 3,526
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by HeyYou View Post
Use ONLY genuine mopar sensors. The aftermarket fellers don't always play nice.
Don't always play nice? More like the bully who kicks your butt everyday
 
  #10  
Old 06-13-2019, 07:20 PM
John Johnson
John Johnson is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Okay took all day but I think it's fixed. Changed the crank and cam sensors, notice my cap and rotor was looking bad replaced them. Cranked up 1st try, let it idle for 20 minutes and took it for a test drive and it didn't stall. Going to do a full tune up, and take it in for a safety inspection then it's back on the road.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: PLEASE HELP!!!! 1999 RAM 5.2L stalling


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: