2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Reviving Dormant Cummins Turbo After 4 Years

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2020, 09:28 AM
Mark Leroy Howell
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Reviving Dormant Cummins Turbo After 4 Years

I purchased a '98 quad cab 2500 Cummins turbo 4x4 that has been sitting for four years. My brother said it was running strong when parked due to front end issues. I've always owned gas Dodges, so I'm somewhat new to diesels. I'd appreciate some guidance on how to go about reviving this beast!

Last edited by Mark Leroy Howell; 09-16-2020 at 10:42 AM.
Old 09-16-2020, 11:44 AM
ol' grouch
Champion
Received 593 Likes on 538 Posts

Originally Posted by Mark Leroy Howell
I purchased a '98 quad cab 2500 Cummins turbo 4x4 that has been sitting for four years. My brother said it was running strong when parked due to front end issues. I've always owned gas Dodges, so I'm somewhat new to diesels. I'd appreciate some guidance on how to go about reviving this beast!

The fuel may be gummed up by now if it had much in it. Make sure the lift and injection pumps are in good shape. Is it 12 or 24 valve? I'd make sure the turbo spins freely. Change the oil and filter (it holds a lot more than a gasser) fill the tank with fresh fuel once you've drained it as much as possible and replace the batteries. Give it a crank and see what happens. DO NOT race the engine. If it idles fine. Watch the oil pressure. Let it warm up and deal with any issues that may crop up. There may be other things to do or look for. I'm limited to PowerStroke engines and OLD Detroit engines. Usually, I deal with gassers.

The following users liked this post:
Mark Leroy Howell (09-29-2020)
Old 09-16-2020, 12:55 PM
Mark Leroy Howell