2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

a newbie question....or two

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2006, 05:00 PM
johnnyquest
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default a newbie question....or two

Hi everyone....I'm new to trucks and my first one is my '99 ram 4x4. It's a 5.9L with 120,000 miles on it. Stock ride height with 245/75 r 16 cheapo tires. Although the miles were high the truck is in great shape, and IMO was well worth the $7000 I paid for it. It wasn't in perfect shape, I put new front brakes on it because the rotors were warped, added some nerf bars so the rug rats could get in and out easier, changed my oil and spark plugs. But the steering doesn't seem to be right. I find myself driving "dukes of hazzard" style from time to time, sawing the wheel back and forth on the highway, little to no on-center feel...it's worse on windy days. It also seems like when I change lanes like I have to force the steering back to center. Unfortunately I don't know much about trucks, is this just the way most older trucks drive? Or will performing this steering box procedure help?

"MY STEERING SOLUTION THAT WORKED FOR ME

I would try the track bar first, then draglink that is attached to the pitman arm, have someone move steering wheel slowly while your under front end see if joints move and wheels dont, go slow looking at every ball joint and both ends of the trackbar.