2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

New to this, Truck wont start...need help ASAP

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2006, 01:09 AM
bsebllplyr13
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to this, Truck wont start...need help ASAP

So I am brand new to all this and I hope someone will be able to help me out a little. I have a 1997 dodge ram 1500 4x4 with a 360 in it. A week ago my truck's engine shut down on the highway. Everything electrical worked, it just wouldn't start. I towed it home and have been fiddling with it since. I have changed the distributor cap and rotor, I have checked the fuel pressure and I am getting 50 psi. Also replaced the ignitor coil and wire. I am getting spark and fuel, but the only way I get any sort of action is if I push the gas peddle down all the way and it will want to start but wont. One thing I did do that started it, was disconected the fuel lines to see if my pump was working, which it is. Once I disconected the lines it fired right up, but couldn't leave it on because it was dumping fuel on the ground. So if anyone could help me, I really don't want to take it to someone. Please help as soon as possible

Old 08-27-2006, 01:44 AM
Tani1500
Champion
Default RE: New to this, Truck wont start...need help ASAP

sounds to me like you broke ( or it broke itself) the crank sensor. it tells it when to fire and the engine wont run without it. its located on the right hand side of the bell housing on the top. theres 2 bolts that hold it in a hole in the top of the bell housing. not the cheapest part though. it was around $100 when i got mine.