3rd Gen Dakota 2005 - 2011 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 3rd Gen Dakota.

Towing Follow Up Question

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2009, 02:08 PM
mdk23
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Towing Follow Up Question

Hello,

I posted an earlier question about a towing package for my 2005 Dakota. I am going to order the Mopar package I think. Anyway, I was just wondering if anyone had self installed a hitch themselves? I have never done it before and just wondered if I need to disassemble the bumper, muffler, or anything else to put the hitch on? Just wondering how much drilling would need to be done too. I guess I am trying to consider if I want to do it my self or have it installed by someone. Thanks.

Old 03-16-2009, 02:18 PM
cramerica
Record Breaker

Don't know about the Mopar Package specifically, but I think they are all pretty much the same. Mine was a UHaul, but appears to be the same gauge metal and attachment method as all the other Dakota hitch recievers I've seen.

The bumper is attached at 4 points. Nothing to it. Disconnect the license plate light wiring first. It's steel and somewhat heavy, so don't let it fall on you by accident.

The only specialty tool you need would be a torque-wrench good to 150 ft-lb or so, for the bolts that attach the reciever to the tubular frame member. IRC the UHaul called for about 125 ft-lb.

I was ready to borrow a wrench from a parts store and go for it myself, but my truck got sideswiped and ended up in the body shop anyway. They installed it and I pulled a trailer 900 mi without issue.

Old 03-16-2009, 02:22 PM
donkeypunch
King Jackass
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Just like Cram stated. Although with the Mopar hitch, you will need a torx bit. (can't remember the size, I think it was a T-50, T-55, or so.) This bolt is torqued into the shank hole for the bumper ball location.

Old 03-16-2009, 02:33 PM
cramerica
Record Breaker

Thaaaaaenks

Old 03-16-2009, 04:35 PM
mdk23