3rd Gen Dakota 2005 - 2011 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 3rd Gen Dakota.

Exhaust ?

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2010, 10:49 AM
roadriano
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Exhaust ?

Hi,

First I'm new with trucks and I looked thru all posts for exhaust/muffler info but I have other questions.

On my truck I have a resonator (I guess) which is 3 to 4 ft long !!?? I've never seen it that big in vids "how to change exhaust/muffler". Right after at about 1 ft I have the muffer?! which is 1 ft long. Makes more sense to have muffler first and then resonator ...

All schematics for a dual ... just don't make sense.

-1-
My first question is which piece should I remove to have a smooth deep noise, not to loud, or what to replace with what??

-2-
Will this fit? Dual exhaust dodge dakota V6 ou V8 année 2004 extra cab short bed Magnaflow.
http://montreal.kijiji.ca/c-cars-veh...AdIdZ206733650

Thank you in advance,
Adrian

Old 08-02-2010, 11:58 AM
rengnath
Champion

You have 2 different possiblities for a stock exhaust system. 2 resonators and a muffler or 1 muffler and 1 resonator. It sounds like you have 1 of each. The long piece you are talking about is your muffler and the foot long one is a resonator. To get more of a rumble, remove the resonator(s).

Old 08-02-2010, 12:19 PM
roadriano

Thx a lot rengnath that's exactly what I was looking for
I guess if I take out the resonator and the sound it's not nice I change the muffler right?

Old 08-02-2010, 12:38 PM
rengnath
Champion

You are correct. Personally, if you can spare the $400-500 just buy a premanufactured cat back exhaust. Thats the best thing to do, IMO, expecially if you are looking for performance. The kits are designed to sound good. Even by swapping out the muffler in your system, theres a chance the sound wont be nice. If you are looking for a rumble, removal of the resonator should do the trick. A muffler swap is going to add more noise vs rumble.