3rd Gen Dakota 2005 - 2011 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 3rd Gen Dakota.

Please help!! Fuel and or intake issues

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2013, 10:52 AM
jmike2006
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Please help!! Fuel and or intake issues

Hey everyone first off love the forums, have helped me out quite a bit!! Heres my issue, first off im not a mechanic but am very smart and mechanicly inclined. OK. So i have a 2006 Dakota V-8 4.7 2wd, and was having a very rough idle, would go up and down between 1-2 rpms, but drove fine. so cleaned the IAC valve. idled perfect!! then put in drive right after and started to bog down, no power, until you got up to 20-30 mph. The more we drove it the better it got, but now when you start it it acts as though its not getting fueling and sputtering out, and wont even stay running. i changed out all the spark plugs and cleaned the coil packs up. then i checked the fuel pressure in the rail and nothing( by punching the stem with a screwdriver) all it does is spit out a little fuel and thats it. checked the fuse and relay and they are good. is my fuel pump out or could it be the fuel filter. i had taken it to autozone last weekend and got these error codes..p0113,p0171,p0300,&p0508.. please help.

Old 10-20-2013, 03:50 PM
jasonw
Site Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Received 23 Likes on 12 Posts

I think your IAC valve is shot. Sounds to me like intermittent failure. I would replace it and see if that solves your issues. P0508 = IAC Sensor issue. P0113 = Intake Air Temperature (IAT) sensor issue, but that may be related to P0508. P0171 means that the engine is running to lean, and P0300 means random misfires. Both of those are most likely being caused by P0508, and maybe the P0113.

Replace the IAC motor/valve first. If you still have issues, replace the IAT sensor. If memory serves, the IAT sensor isn't very expensive.

Old 10-20-2013, 09:07 PM
jmike2006