compass thing - Page 3 - DodgeForum.com

3rd Gen Dakota 2005 - 2011 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 3rd Gen Dakota.
Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

compass thing

  #21  
Old 01-24-2007, 02:49 PM
06dak
06dak is offline
Rookie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 81
Default RE: compass thing

I second that -I want HOMELINK! Though, it would be a bit strange to have that blank screen up there... If it's prewired, would it be ALL wired or not wired? I would think it should have a harness for everything (temp, fuel eco, power) rather than just some things. Of course, the wires may need to nowhere, but if it's prewired it'd all be up there, right? Or is that info send wirelessly? Hmmm...
 
  #22  
Old 01-24-2007, 04:04 PM
jimboscomp's Avatar
jimboscomp
jimboscomp is offline
All Star
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 989
Default RE: compass thing

it's sent through wires...i can just see it being wireless, and the transmissions accidentally crossing other cars with wireless information receivers, and the person's MPG display keeps flipping back and forth from like 30mpg to 15mpg, freakin out like that...just a funny thought lol

 
  #23  
Old 01-24-2007, 04:21 PM
Chris
Chris is offline
Record Breaker
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,909
Default RE: compass thing

Or passing in opposite directions and having the compass freak out. It is wired, not wireless for the compass, avg mpg, current, mpg, trip, outside temp, miles until empty.
 
  #24  
Old 01-25-2007, 12:53 AM
ezegoin
ezegoin is offline
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Posts: 44
Default RE: compass thing

This is something that I've been thinking about doing too and it has apparently been successfully done before. I found a thread on *********.com that discusses it.

http://www.*********.com/forums/show...erhead+console

I'm trying to get some more detailed info on this. As soon as I it, I'll post it.
 
  #25  
Old 01-25-2007, 02:39 AM
06dak
06dak is offline
Rookie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 81
Default RE: compass thing

Huh? www.***.com? Sorry, I'm missing something...
 
  #26  
Old 01-25-2007, 02:54 AM
ezegoin
ezegoin is offline
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Posts: 44
Default RE: compass thing

OK, that's wierd, it won't let me put a url in w/o it being replaced with ****.

http://www.*********.com/forums/show...erhead+console

where **** is dodge talk no space between dodge and talk (it didn't like the one word either)[:@]

Can anyone enlighten me on what I'm doing wrong w/ posting links? Thanks.


 
  #27  
Old 01-25-2007, 03:54 AM
Frenchy
Frenchy is offline
Banned
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 0
Default RE: compass thing

it's a competing dodge forum, theydont like the linking onn this forum to another.

that make sense?
 
  #28  
Old 01-25-2007, 03:55 AM
Night_Runner
Night_Runner is offline
Champion
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location:
Posts: 2,662
Default RE: compass thing

i believe this site edits out other sites not in cooperation with this site, aka compeditors
 
  #29  
Old 01-25-2007, 03:55 AM
Night_Runner
Night_Runner is offline
Champion
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location:
Posts: 2,662
Default RE: compass thing

damn frenchy beat me to it, your post wasnt there when i read the thread [:@]
 
  #30  
Old 01-25-2007, 09:50 AM
ezegoin
ezegoin is offline
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Posts: 44
Default RE: compass thing

That's what I figured. I skimmed through the service manual last night trying to figure out the different components required to make this work. One of the requirements for getting the outside air temp was having the outside air temp sensor. I did a quick check for it to see if my truck was equiped and it was. It's located (facing truck) to the lower right side of the radiator. There should be a cable bundle w/ 2 wires coming towards the center of the truck about 10" or so from over by the headlight. You cant miss it if you have it.

Here is the what the guy Munster from a site not to be spoken of said.

"Well here is what i have learned (kind of the hard way) not really that bad to do just need to gather a few things. The connector for all the trip and mileage goodies is loacated in the right pilar. all u need is the overhead console, the braket that it attaches to which is screwed to the roof and the wire harness from the overhead unit across the roof and down into the a pilar. if u can not get the wire harness u just need to run 4 wires to make it work can b bus - which is white and can b bus+ red which is power and black which is ground it will all work which i know for a fact. The problem is cutting the headliner and finding somone who will take the time to get the necessary parts ie pigtail and or harness and mounting bracket."
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: compass thing


Featured Sponsors

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: