3rd Gen Durango 2011+ models

Engine trouble on brand new 2014 r/t

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2014, 11:42 AM
mike2014rt
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Engine trouble on brand new 2014 r/t

I just picked up my new 2014 r/t on Tuesday night. Wednesday morning as I'm driving it starts popping and shaking and stalls. I'm able to get it back on but the popping and shaking is still there. I make it to the dealership - service tells me it's a broken rocker arm and bent intake push-rod. Full details are in the attached image. I'm no car expert, but I would expect to not have engine problems after driving it for 50 miles. Obviously I'm frustrated - I'm looking for thoughts on how big of an issue this is. I've asked for a replacement from Chrystler and they are getting back to me. It was fixed and I've driven it for a day. Since I didn't even have time to get used to the vehicle I don't know what sounds are normal and what I should worry about. There is definitely a popping noise still, very faint. It could just be the hemi's normal sound. After driving it for a day (country driving) it only averaged 13mpg which is below the low end of the ratings. I don't know what possible side effects from a damaged engine could be. Any thoughts on my situation would be appreciated. I was very excited about the purchase and love the looks/features of the vehicle but obviously have been turned off by the experience.

Old 11-01-2014, 12:41 PM
Thekoning
Professional
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Wow sorry to hear! Were you just redlining it for an hour, why the heck did all that get damaged on a brand new engine? I would have demanded a whole new vehicle if that damage isnt your fault.

Old 11-01-2014, 01:24 PM
mike2014rt