3rd Gen RAM general discussion/NON-tech This section is for general discussions about your 3rd gen RAM. Non tech related RAM threads belong here.

10 years sitting, lets get it running!

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2021, 03:07 PM
Mattmann1
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 10 years sitting, lets get it running!

I just bought a 2005 ram 1500 slt 4x4 with the 4.7 magnum with 13,000 original miles. It looks factory new no dents dings rust or scratches and under 15k miles. I'm no mechanic just a diy guy. I've always done all my own repairs minus motor transmission and rear end repairs. Basically I leave the driveline to the pros. Guy I bought it off of said fuel pump went out twice in a month about a year after he bought it. Life happend and the truck has sat since. I had it towed to my house to work on it. What should I do to get this beast running and driving so I can use it to tow mine and my sons quads. I'm in the process of removing the coil packs and then plugs, my plan was to shoot some wd40 down the cylinders let them sit for a few days then try and turn the motor over with a wrench. After scouring posts related it looks like I may want to order some "fogging oil"? I pulled the battery it was not split and the case looked to b in good condition not too much corrosion on the wires but I have already replaced the clamps as they were corroded and one was already broken. I'm looking for a used battery with good charge to slap in it and start diagnosing any electrical or wiring issues there may b with the fuel pump, or maybe I'll put a battery in it and I'll hear the relay click and fuel pump come on and off to the races? Pls hive mind tell me where in going wrong things I need to do anything I may b missing? Mainly I'm worried about a dry start with that pristine motor sitting so long. I don't wanna cause any pre mature wear. I will keep yall updated on my progress it should b fun. This trucks a beauty! I'll post pics and videos of my progress.