3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Exhaust Question.

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2009, 09:48 PM
GotaQuestion
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Exhaust Question.

Alright, I'm new to dodge trucks and have a question, recently started working a dodge dealership, one of the techs had to replace the exhaust on a 3rd gen ram, but always have been a ford guy so I don't know much about these rams,

on the exhaust, you have the muffler, large, round and long. then a little bit after the mufflers you have another small muffler like looking thing, usually mounted just before the tail pipe. Now since you guys are into these trucks, I figured you could tell me exactly what it is and what purpose it serves ? I know trucks with them seem to be pretty throaty sounding from the factory, and thought maybe it was what made them bellow ?

Long story short, the truck had something come up and smash the exhaust, if mopar doesn't want it for warranty I'll take it for my truck, my truck has a straight six and I've been playing with muffler. I was thinking maybe it would make my exhaust sound a bit deeper ?

Old 01-20-2009, 11:27 PM
GotaQuestion

Come on, anybody ?

Old 01-20-2009, 11:31 PM
mdram43
Record Breaker

a cat, doesnt add sound, if anything takes away from it

Old 01-20-2009, 11:38 PM
SeMiGoD
Record Breaker

Originally Posted by mdram43
a cat, doesnt add sound, if anything takes away from it
Thats not a cat, thats a resonator. Cats are on the front of the exhaust before the muffler.

Old 01-21-2009, 08:04 AM
Got Poi

i took out my rear section out.. it's hellla sound like a hemi!!

Old 01-21-2009, 09:22 AM
Mystro
Captain
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

The resonator is on 1500 MDS trucks to get rid of exhaust drone. It is not on any 2500/3500 Rams.

Old 01-21-2009, 10:52 AM