Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification. Let's hear about it here.

2005 Ram Quad Cab - new system

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2009, 11:53 PM
dodge05rammy
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2005 Ram Quad Cab - new system

Bit of a noob here, after about 15 years away from doing car audio installs. Thrilled with all the new gear out there, though. Looking to do a conservative little system in my 2005 Dodge Ram Quad Cab, as the stock 4-speaker AM/FM/CD system just doesn't cut it with the windows down and wind rushing thru the cab. Not looking at anything to impress anyone, just wanting to up the SPL's a good 3 to 6 dB.

This truck has the regular 4-speaker system, not the upgraded Infinity 7-speaker system. As I understand it, that means 6x9's in the front doors, 6.5's in the rear doors, and the amp integrated in the head unit. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

Head unit aside, I'm debating two options for amps and speakers. One would be a 4-channel amp and simply upgrading the four door speakers. I'm guessing the factory head unit is below 25W x 4, so this could be one easy way to really improve things without much hassle. The other option would be a 5-channel amp and adding a single sub under the rear seat in a Q-logic enclosure. I do not want to give up both of my under-seat storage bins (need them for trailer hitches, tie downs, etc.), so an MTX Thunderforms is out of the question. Besides, I'm mostly listening to straight up rock, and a single sub should keep up fine with the rest of the rig.