Dodge Caravan The Dodge Caravan is the best selling mini van from Dodge. How many Dodge Caravan owners here at DodgeForum.com would agree? Discuss it now!

No Start

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2011, 12:54 AM
fatheroftwins07
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default No Start

hello i am new to this three days ago my 99 dodge caravan se 3.3 liter died on my wife backing out of the driveway. since then i have replaced the fuel pump, fuel filter, plugs, wires, camshaft position sensor, crankshaft position sensor, throttle position sensor and the water pump but it still won't start, it acts like it wants to fire up and run but all it does is crank over sputter a little then die i am at a loss not sure where to turn now to get it running again if anyone has any suggestions please i need help.

Old 11-13-2011, 10:50 PM
master tech
Site Moderator & Tech
Dodge Forum Moderator
Received 96 Likes on 81 Posts

Welcome to DF
First thing I would do is check for any stored codes, I'm guessing with year of the van. You could have a bad flex plate.

Old 11-17-2011, 07:18 PM
fatheroftwins07
Default update

not sure if that is the problem but i will check it just to be safe. however now when i turn the key to the on position the fuel kicks on then immediately kicks back off and i and getting no spark but i can't seem to find out why someone told me it could be the auto shutdown relay but i am not finding a replacement through the auto parts stores out here (autozone & advanced auto) it looks to be the same relay as the fuel pump. could this be the reason why my van isn't getting fuel or spark? also would the flex plate make a clanking noise when the motor does start?

Old 11-18-2011, 02:13 AM
Cougar41
Record Breaker
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

The pump turning off when the key is at on/run is normal. The pump turns on momentarily then shuts off to prime the fuel system before starting. When you turn the key to start and release the key the pump stays on.