Dodge Charger The Dodge Charger. The car that made its competitors shiver in the 60's is reborn in 2006 into a sleek sedan that can still send the competition home wimpering, the Dodge Charger.

Are k&N filers worth it?

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2012, 11:36 AM
furiousgeorge
Professional
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Are k&N filers worth it?

I have a 2011 Charger SE, and I'd like to get what I can for mpg and power with simple additions. I've never used the washable K&N filters before. They claim increased power and mileage, do they actually work?

Old 03-06-2012, 06:48 AM
POWER SEDAN
Captain

Their a great filter in regards of convenience of self-cleaning maintenance. However you're not going to notice a mpg or hp gains, these LX plarform vehicles just have to much curb weight, among other reasons as well.

Old 03-06-2012, 09:01 AM
furiousgeorge
Professional

Thanks for the info! What are good mods to start with? I'm not looking to build a race car or nothing, but I drive a fair distance to work and I'd like to get as much mpg as I can.

Old 03-06-2012, 10:41 AM
POWER SEDAN
Captain

The first mods I installed were mopar headers and highflow cats, magnaflow exhaust, and K&N CAI. That's when I clocked my best mileage ever, usually 28-29 highway. I swapped out internals now, enabled MDS, so now it's completely different, but those numbers are based off an '06 RT.

Old 03-07-2012, 12:06 AM
furiousgeorge
Professional

I have the 3.6, so headers aren't an option for me, but the high flow cat sounds like a start. The CAI if it's not really expensive, do they make a noticeable difference?

Old 03-07-2012, 01:37 AM
steak59
Record Breaker
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

No, the CAT from the factory is alrdy a high flow CAT, most vehicle built after 2002 comes with it from the factory.
they won't make noticeable difference, Might give you a few extra MAXIMUN horse power, not enough for anything to feel.
tho it will sound noticebly different.

Old 03-07-2012, 06:44 AM