Dodge/Ram Diesel Tech Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

Rotors ... I asked in 2nd gen

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2006, 03:03 PM
Mayfair
Legend
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rotors ... I asked in 2nd gen

Hey guy's .... I asked this question over in 2nd gen but didn't get any help. I'm hopeing one of you guy's will be able to help me out.

I've got a 98 diesel Ram. Driving to work today I hit the brakes and I heard that bone chilling GRIND noise. Yep ... I'm sure I've cracked a pad again. They were just put on about 2 months ago. I HATE when that happens !!!

Anyway ....

I'm told that my rotors are "pressed " on, and that they are a real pain in the kiester to replace. I've never done my own brakes before, so I have no clue what's involved. I'm told that I may have to buy new hubs as well as rotors since the rotors are pressed onto the hubs. A rotor with a hub from the dealer I'm told is about $400.00 EACH !! Any help at all would be appreciated.

Also ....

If you could direct me to where you'd recommend for me to buy my new pads and rotors I'd really appreciate that as well. I've seen a thread on drilled and slotted rotors and I haven't made up my mind there yet, but I'm thinking slotted. For now, I'm primarily interrested in how my front rotors come on and off and just how difficult replacing them is.

Thanks guy's ...

Old 09-12-2006, 03:25 PM
ramtradxb
Professional
Default RE: Rotors ... I asked in 2nd gen