Dodge Ram Van The full size Dodge Ram Van that showed that we can go and do as we please. Discuss the Dodge Ram Van here today.

2000 B250 Couple of Issues

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2017, 06:01 AM
mikisurf
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2000 B250 Couple of Issues

Hi, I'm from Italy and just bought a 2000 B250 Van Ram Conversion. Engine should be 5.9 Magnum.
I'm a very newbie and have no experience.

I've had several problems with the Engine ECU that was bypassed the second time I had to stop because the alternator didn't receive any pulse to charge the battery.
My first question is, what does the ECU control on the van? is it safe to drive with the ECU bypassed?

Also, does this computer manage also the internal lights and the buzzer? this because the buzzer doesn't work anymore and internal lights have strange behaviours... is it the same ECU or should I look for a different one? Where?

Thanks for your help
Miki

Old 02-09-2017, 06:48 PM
alloro
Van & CUV Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Received 72 Likes on 68 Posts

The PCM (ECU) for the most part controls the engine and all of the sensors. It does not control the lights or buzzer.

Old 02-10-2017, 07:40 AM
mikisurf

Originally Posted by alloro
The PCM (ECU) for the most part controls the engine and all of the sensors. It does not control the lights or buzzer.
Thanks for your answer; would it be a problem to drive having the ECU bypassed?

Old 02-10-2017, 11:32 AM
rsdata
Captain
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

let us make sure we are all using the same terminology here...
the PCM, which is the box above the engine, attached to the firewall with 3 wire bundle connectors going to it, in this model is called the PCM...

One caution, anytime you are working with the PCM, make sure that the positive battery cable is disconnected from the battery. This means when you are plugging or unplugging the wire bundles that plug into the PCM, the battery must be disconnected.