Speedometer and shifting issue - DodgeForum.com

Go Back  DodgeForum.com > Dodge Vans & CUVs > Dodge Ram Van
Reload this Page > Speedometer and shifting issue
Dodge Ram Van The full size Dodge Ram Van that showed that we can go and do as we please. Discuss the Dodge Ram Van here today.

Speedometer and shifting issue

Reply

 
 
  #1  
Old 09-11-2017, 05:09 PM
happyhourtx
happyhourtx is offline
Amateur
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 25
Default Speedometer and shifting issue

ok. Driving my van (96 b2500) and the speedometer is jumping all over the place. Once I hit about 70, everything is okay.
then I feel the van kind of drop gear and then shift back again, all within a second. At the same time I notice the speedometer has jumped down to 60,then after the shift back to 70.
​​​​​​Happened a few times on the drive. Is this a related issue or is it a transmission problem?
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-12-2017, 09:55 AM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 44,635
Default

Likely the VSS (vehicle speed sensor) is having some issues. If the pcm sees vehicle speed jumping around, it will be confused about which gear it thinks it should be in. VSS is on the tailhousing of the trans, may wanna pull it, and inspect the gears. (yes, it is gear driven on the 96. )
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-12-2017, 11:13 AM
happyhourtx
happyhourtx is offline
Amateur
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 25
Default

Originally Posted by HeyYou View Post
Likely the VSS (vehicle speed sensor) is having some issues. If the pcm sees vehicle speed jumping around, it will be confused about which gear it thinks it should be in. VSS is on the tailhousing of the trans, may wanna pull it, and inspect the gears. (yes, it is gear driven on the 96. )

thanks. have a couple of long road trips coming up and would hate to have an iswsue on the road. is this something i can do myslef? or should i take it in? i reall yno nothing about cars, but i have read this haynes manual, which has helped me do a a couple of small things.
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-12-2017, 02:23 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 44,635
Default

It is relatively easy. It's one bolt, and a wiring connector. Take note of how the VSS is indexed in the trans housing though. It will only go in one way, and actually work right.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-12-2017, 02:56 PM
happyhourtx
happyhourtx is offline
Amateur
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 25
Default

Originally Posted by HeyYou View Post
It is relatively easy. It's one bolt, and a wiring connector. Take note of how the VSS is indexed in the trans housing though. It will only go in one way, and actually work right.
thanks!! looks like i have a project tomorrow morning. i should probably not drive the van around at all until its fixed, should I?
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-13-2017, 10:20 AM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 44,635
Default

If you have something else to drive, leaving the van parked till its fixed isn't a bad idea.
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-13-2017, 10:37 PM
happyhourtx
happyhourtx is offline
Amateur
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 25
Default

Originally Posted by HeyYou View Post
If you have something else to drive, leaving the van parked till its fixed isn't a bad idea.
well, i replaced the VSS, pretty easy. drove home from work tonight and the speedpometer still jumps around a little. not like before, but a little. so thats good. going to drive it tomorrow before i head out of town and see what happens when i hit 60-70.
what else could it be?
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-14-2017, 08:27 AM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 44,635
Default

Maybe a bad connection somewhere? Would be interesting to see if the PCM is getting the same erratic readings, or if it is just the cluster having an issue..... however, I don't know if the scanner would react fast enough to actually show anything.....
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-14-2017, 05:38 PM
SteveR
SteveR is offline
Veteran
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 343
Default

Does yours need to be rotated to get it into the correct position? On the 1991 the positions must be related to the diameter of the gear (# of teeth). You may need to pick 1 position more to get the correct tooth engagement.
Steve
 
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old Yesterday, 10:47 PM
happyhourtx
happyhourtx is offline
Amateur
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 25
Default

Originally Posted by SteveR View Post
Does yours need to be rotated to get it into the correct position? On the 1991 the positions must be related to the diameter of the gear (# of teeth). You may need to pick 1 position more to get the correct tooth engagement.
Steve

i rotated until it would fit in.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Featured Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:19 AM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: