Dodge Ram Van The full size Dodge Ram Van that showed that we can go and do as we please. Discuss the Dodge Ram Van here today.

1990 B250 5.2L Auto Stalls

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2023, 05:57 PM
Special Guest
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1990 B250 5.2L Auto Stalls

Hello! Having some difficulties and thought I would ask here. I am not a mechanic, though I know how to tinker, but I am at a lost. Family inherited an 1990 B250 from a friend, and I have recently gained possession of it. To my understanding it worked great and the previous owner took great care of it, tuning and taking care as needed. However, when it came into our care, it has sat. For about 2 years. When I picked it up, it started great, and it sounded good, if not like a boat. The issue comes into play when entering gear, it appears to lose idle but it will not stall then. There is no RPM meter on the dash so I am unable to determine its true idling numbers. Now, after giving it gas, when coming to a stop, it will stall on me. When driving it home, I went about 90 miles and it stalled 3 times, though I didn't give it much thought assuming it was due to lack of driving, and it started back up again both the 1st and 2nd time. The 3rd time however it needed a couple minutes, and since then, it has become an issue where if it stalls on me, it may not start up, including even attempting to turn over, needing up to several hours plus. It will then turn on as if nothing had ever happened and idle just fine. Lights turn on, and I am able to perform all other electrical actions after it has stalled. I have a couple ideas, but thought I could ask here whilst I perform them and maybe the community has idea's I do not.

Things I have Done:

Before posting this I have changed the Air Filter, which I didn't think was the issue but it did need it.