Dodge Ram The full size truck that leads the way in innovative and unique styling, the Dodge Ram. With best in class available horsepower, the Dodge Ram out runs any competitor.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Mall of Georgia

Service Questions

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2004, 01:30 PM
ColoradoJon
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Service Questions

Hello all -

I'm relatively new to Dodge ownership. I've owned a small 88 D-50 ram pickup years ago and it was a great truck, along with a 84 F250 and 86 bronco II. I purchased a new 2001 Dodge Ram 1500 sport (360 automatic) and have been very happy with it. The truck has 33,000 miles on it and is in excellent shape. The other day I noticed that the check engine light was on, so I called the dealer and a local repair shop. The dealer wanted $85 to diagnose the problem, and the repair shop wanted $60.00. But the dealer explained that if I had work done on the truck the $85 would be applied to the repair cost so I loaded up and drove the 1 hour down to the dealer service shop.

Later that day they called me and said I had a bad ignition wire, and also my injectors were "heavily carboned" and needed cleaning, and the throttle body needed cleaning. They wanted $400 to do the work, plus $85 for the diagnostic! I was very upset. To replace the wires they wanted $200! Holy crap... and so much for applying the diagnostic fee to the cost of the repair.

Anyway, I know that fuel injection systems need servicing, and I live on dirt roads here in Colorado, but at 33,000 miles? The dealership told me that the injectors should be cleaned every year, at a cost of $170! Ok, this all doesn't sound too expensive in the overall picture of things but I was still shocked. Do I really need to have the injectors cleaned? How can they tell without removing them from the engine? And to save $200 I can put on new ignition wires myself!

Am I over-reacting here?

Thanks!
ColoradoJon

Old 03-18-2004, 01:41 PM
Aftrshck
Veteran