1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

2000 5.9 doesn't want to shift out of first

Search this Thread

Old 11-20-2017, 05:25 PM
aredriver
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2000 5.9 doesn't want to shift out of first

GFs 2000 Durango, 5.9 Auto with 4WD, doesn't want to shift out of first. It was low on fluid, and I topped it off with about a quart, but no change in symptoms. She says it seems to get worse as it heats up. I drove it and tried manually shifting 1,2,D and it wouldn't shift then either. What I noticed was that it would shift, but only after it got to about 25 or so MPH and about 3000 RPM, and only when I backed off the gas for a few seconds. Neither one us can afford a rebuild, does this sound like something related to the sensors? I worked as a mechanic for about 8 years, but know nothing about transmissions. Please tell me I can do something with this other than buy her a new car

Thanks!

Old 11-20-2017, 09:57 PM
HeyYou
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 3,199 Likes on 2,951 Posts

Yep, that sounds a lot like an electronics problem.

Disconnect the 8 pin connector on the trans. Drivers side, about halfway back. Plugs straight down into the top of the valve body. (on the outside of the trans.) With it unplugged, go for a drive. There will be ZERO automatic function, so, start in first, and upshift/downshift when appropriate. There will be no O/D, or TCC either. Three gears is all ya get. If it shifts into the correct gear when you tell it to, up and down, it's just electronics. Can fix it for around 110 bucks, plus fluid, and filter kit. Just get the 'heavy duty' governor solenoid/pressure sensor kit from ebay. Lots of folks sell 'em.

Old 11-20-2017, 10:44 PM
aredriver

Thanks HeyYou. I will give that a shot tomorrow or Wednesday and report back. Also, do you know what transmission is in this thing? Would it be a 46re?

Last edited by aredriver; 11-20-2017 at 11:32 PM.
Old 11-21-2017, 10:17 AM
HeyYou
Administrator